Guided Walk On Offer

Hi Everyone,

I hope are all well and would like to join me in the first of my planned walks for this year.

Of course a lot of the countryside is still too wet and boggy for comfort but I think I have a walk that avoids the water and mud, mostly.

This walk will be shorter than some of my recent events at about 6 miles, but will have some quite serious slopes to make up for that. I plan to do a circular walk encompassing the Wellington Statue, Caesar’s Camp and the curiously named Bat’s Hogsty. (This is the Farnham/Beacon Hill Caesar’s Camp not the Crowthorne/Nine Mile ride one.)

As people often tell me they would’ve come on a walk but they were unavailable in the week, or conversely at weekends, I plan to hold this walk twice on Thursday 13th and Sunday 16th March. I will go ahead with both if I get six expressions of interest in each. You can always come on both as I may change the direction on the second.

Both will start at 10:00 from the car park on Bourley Road SU831510. This is the main car park on the north side of the road and it is 1.5 miles from the Wellington roundabout on the A325 and 1 mile from the other end of Bourley road by the Tweseldown pub on the B3013.

This walk has only one stile but as I mentioned earlier, a couple of short steep slopes, but we will take our time and the panoramic views from the top of Caesar’s Camp are extraordinary – walking poles may be an advantage, but you can leave the ropes and crampons at home. I have been up there three times this week and each time in bright sunshine so I hope I’m not pushing my luck too far.

Paul
Cove Brook Volunteer

If you would like to come to this walk, please email blackwater.valley@hants.gov.uk or ring 01252 331353 and your message will be passed along to Paul.

About blackwatervalleycountryside

The Blackwater Valley is located on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and Berkshire and runs for approximately 30km from the source near Aldershot, northwards to Swallowfield. At its confluence it joins the rivers Whitewater and Loddon. The Loddon eventually flows into the River Thames near Reading. Work in the Blackwater Valley is co-ordinated by the Blackwater Valley Countryside Partnership on behalf of the local authorities that border the Valley. Despite being surrounded by urban development the Valley provides an important green corridor for local residents As well as the Blackwater Valley Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) and a small part of the Basingstoke Canal SSSI, three nature reserves within the Valley catchment and many other areas have been recognised for their ecological importance. The local planning authorities covering the Valley have designated 31 other areas as ‘Wildlife Sites’.
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

